President Cyril Ramaphosa appoints Commission on Fourth Industrial Revolution

media statement banner amendedPresident Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed members of the Presidential Commission on the Fourth Industrial Revolution (4IR) which will assist government in taking advantage of the opportunities presented by the digital industrial revolution.

The task of the Commission, which will be chaired by the President, is to identify relevant policies, strategies and action plans that will position South Africa as a competitive global player. The Deputy Chair of the Commission is University of Johannesburg Professor Tshilidzi Marwala, whose expertise spans the theory and application of artificial intelligence to engineering, computer science, finance, social science and medicine.

In his State of the Nation Address to a Joint Sitting of Parliament on Thursday, 7 February 2019, President Ramaphosa said South Africa had chosen to be a country of the future at a time when the world was changing at a pace and in a manner that was unprecedented in human history. He said revolutionary advances in technology were reshaping the way people work and live.

“Unless we adapt, unless we understand the nature of the profound change that is reshaping our world, and unless we readily embrace the opportunities it presents, the promise of our nation’s birth will forever remain unfulfilled,” the President said. In the same Address, the President announced the establishment of a Presidential Commission on 4IR.

In establishing the Commission, a public consultation process was undertaken to attract eminent people who possess relevant skills and knowledge required to drive 4IR. The 30-member Commission, Chaired by the President, comprises eminent persons from different sectors of society and reflects a balance in gender, youth, labour and business including digital start-ups as well as digital entrepreneurships.

The commissioners (whose profiles can be viewed in an annexure at ) are:

• Prof Tshilidzi Marwala (Deputy Chair)
• Prof Chris Michael Adendorff
• Ms Beth Arendse
• Mr Thulani Humphrey Dlamini
• Mr Abdul Razak Esakjee
• Dr Bernard Lewis Fanaroff
• Mr Michael Gastrow
• Mr Xolile Christopher George
• Ms Charmaine Houvet
• Dr Prince Senyukelo Jaca
• Mr Tervern Liaan John Jaftha
• Mr Mohamed Shameel Joosub
• Ms Marinda Kellerman
• Ms Nomso Kana
• Mr Baxolile Mabinya
• Mr Rendani Mamphiswana
• Ms Lindiwe Matlali
• Mr Calvo Mawela
• Ms Busisiwe Mbuyisa
• Ms Nomvula Mkhonza
• Mr Vukani Mngxati
• Mr Joseph Ndaba
• Mr Andile Ngcaba
• Dr Nompumelelo Happworth Obokoh
• Mr Rendani Praise Ramabulana
• Mr Leon Desmond Rolls
• Dr Sibongiseni Thotsejane
• Mr Gerhard van Deventer
• Mr Ben Venter, and
• Ms S’onqoba Vuba

Operational support to the Commission will be provided by a secretariat of officials of various national departments, led by the Department of Communications.

President Ramaphosa has wished the Commission well in its endeavours and has expressed his appreciation to commissioners for availing themselves to serve the nation in an important determinant of South Africa’s development trajectory in the coming years and decades.

Minister of Communications Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams, who is the coordinator of government’s 4IR programme, is due to convene an induction session with appointed commissioners, after which the Commission will have its inaugural meeting with the President.

Media enquiries:
Khusela Diko, Spokesperson to the President
Cell: 072 854 5707
Nthabeleng Mokitimi-Dlamini (Media Liaison Officer – Ministry of Communications)
Cell: 073 222 552


Scam AlertBeware of the scam emails (source:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - Telephone: +27 (0) 12 516 0899- Fax 086 218 0531 going around requesting quotations from prominent and innocent service provider(particularly SMMEs). The Scammers pretend to be working from the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services and provide the name of Masego Kgasi ,who is not an official for the Department . They also provide counterfeit documents with the Department’s logo and address which may appear to be real DTPS documents (Click here to view the counterfeit document). The current RFQs are requested for the procurement of 34 RP45H 4.4KW WALL MOUNTED AIR CONDITIONING.
DTPS would like to confirm that such emails or the sender thereof have no relations to the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services and/or its State Owned Entities (SOEs). We would like to caution the public to keep vigilant and take reasonable precaution against such email requests.
Kindly share this information with your colleagues, friends, and families and be cautious about scams such as this one in the future.
The following are the key suspicious indicators of these kinds of scams:

  • Email addresses with a different domain from government domain, e.g. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. will be the correct domain. Anything with email address or website that ends with: or or .com or .net or, etc should raise alarm of being counterfeit.
  • The Department has two telephone number identifiers, i.e. 012 427 and 012 421. Any other telephone number should raise alarm.
  • There is no tender number for RFQs. Thus any RFQ with a tender number should raise alarm to be counterfeit RFQ.
  • Departmental order numbers start with OR- and followed by five numbers, e.g. OR-012345. Any order number that is different from this format should raise alarm.

If you have any suspicion regarding RFQs send to you, do not hesitate to call the Department and ask for SCM officials on the following number: 012 427 8000 or fax to 012 427 8110 to verify the RFQs. To report any scam, use these numbers and request for the Ethics Office or the Risk Management Directorate.
The Ethics Office